Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
  • ع
Governance of CBO is vested in its Board of Governors. The Board is vested with full authority to perform all acts required for the effective functioning and management of the Central Bank, as well as the banking system of the country.

The wide range of powers include the issuance of regulations relating to the implementation of Banking Laws, interest rates, capital adequacy, discounting of commercial papers, appointment of banking personnel, and other regulations as deemed necessary.

The Board of Governors of the Central Bank of Oman comprises seven members appointed by His Majesty the Sultan, as follows:


His Highness Sayyid Taimur bin Asa'ad bin Tariq Al Said



 H.E. Dr. Said bin Mohammed bin Ahmed Al-Saqri

 Minister of Economy

 (Deputy Chairman)


H.E. Abdullah bin Salim Abdullah Al-Harthy

Under-Secretary of the Ministry of Finance


Al Salmi

H.E. Abdullah bin Salem Al Salmi  

Executive President, Capital Market Authority



Maqbool bin Ali bin Sultan Al-Lawatia



Shaikh Mohammed bin Saud bin Salim Bahwan Al Mukhaini



Ahmed bin Mohammed bin Abdullah Al-Abri


Interested to buy commemorative coins, banknotes, a Banking Law book, and/or many other things that are on sale by CBO? Please follow the ‘Available for Purchase’ link to know what is up for sale.